On our first morning in Zürich, we went to the grocery store to grab some breakfast.  P came across a plastic container of something called “Bircher Muesli” that looked kind of like yogurt with a bunch of fruit and other things mixed into it.  We tried it, and it was pretty good and very filling, but I imagined it was possible for it to taste better.  A few days later, I looked up Bircher Muesli online and learned that it was invented in the late 1800s by a Swiss physician named Maximilian Bircher-Brenner, who was a big advocate of nutritious and raw diets before that was really a thing.  I found a recipe on http://www.mylittlegourmet.com and found that it’s pretty easy to make and very adaptable to different tastes and dietary restrictions.  Now, Bircher Muesli is our go-to breakfast.

20160718_105617

Here is the recipe I use, based on the one I found on mylittlegourmet.  I follow it pretty loosely, depending on what we have in the house and what we’re in the mood for. 

20160718_104707Ingredients:

  • 2 c fine oats
  • 1 3/4 c milk or almond milk (I use both)
  • 1/4 c apple juice
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • Big container of vanilla yogurt
  • 1 apple, grated or finely sliced into little pieces

Optional Ingredients:

  • Fruit
  • Nuts
  • Honey

Mix the oats, milk, apple juice, and lemon juice and let sit in a covered container in the refrigerator overnight. (If you don’t feel like waiting all night, a couple of hours will probably do the trick.)  In the morning, add the apple and the yogurt to your desired level of gloopiness.

That’s it!

After making the basic recipe, I add slivered almonds, honey, and usually two types of fruit (strawberries, blueberries, apricots, peaches, cherries, bananas – really anything is good).  I think one of these days I will try hazelnuts instead of almonds.  Sometimes if I’m feeling fancy, I will make a red currant compote by boiling red currants, sugar, and a tiny bit of water until it gets gooey, and I’ll sift out the seeds and mix that into the muesli to give it a nice, pink color and some added flavor.  The possibilities are endless!

